Sri Lankan Government’s allies launch Anti-US Movement

The second phase of the People’s Council organised by the 11 minor parties of the Sri Lankan government against the controversial US investment Yugadanavi deal was launched in Suvinra public hall in Moragala, Eheliyagoda yesterday (14).

The event is titled ‘The Yugadavi Deal, the Government’s Transparency and the Cost of Living’.

MP Athuraliye Rathana Thero, Minister Vasudewa Nanayakkara, Leader of the Jathika Nidahas Peramuna (NFF) Minister Wimal Weerawansa, Leader of the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya Minister Udaya Gammanpila, Secretary General of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) State Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara, Leader of the Lanka Sama Samaja Party MP Prof. Tissa Vitharana, Chief Secretary of the Sri Lanka Communist Party Specialist Dr. G. Weerasinghe, MP Tiran Alles, MP A.L.M. Athaulla, MP Asanga Navaratna and MP Gevindu Kumaratunga were addressed the event.

Meantime, the United States’ Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC) had withdrew the US $480 million compact agreement with Sri Lanka due to the similar protest against Sri Lankan government own parties.

The previous government gave Cabinet approval for the MCC ahead of the 2019 presidential elections. However, the new government, formed after the elections, under President Gotabaya Rajapaksa decided to suspend the signing of the compact.

Leave a Reply