China helps to protect Sri Lanka from Earthquake

The Chinese government has helped to provide three more fully equipped seismic centres and one of them to be establish at the Western and North-Western Provincial boundaries, the Sri Lankan Environment Ministry said.

Minister Mahinda Amaraweera said that there are four seismic stations operational in our country which are located in Pallekele, Buddhangala, Mahakanadarawa and Hakmana. 

With the addition of the new three seismic centres to be donated by China, there will be seven seismic stations in all.

Sri Lanka was one of the countries struck by the tsunami resulting from the Indian Ocean earthquake on December 26, 2004. On January 3, 2005, Sri Lankan authorities reported more than 30,000 confirmed deaths.

Leave a Reply